The injury update 

I haven’t written for a while as my ankle has been too painful to run. I’ve been meaning to go and get it checked but my priorities have been elsewhere. 

Over the weekend I began to feel the muscles in my left leg beginning to get a bit vulnerable. I took it easy and decided to book an appointment at the foot clinic for later in the week. Unfortunately I tempted fate and last night when walking to the bus  I fell over – it was inevitable. My knees and ankles are weak and so as I’d been walking a little bit weirdly to protect my ankle, it didn’t come as much of a surprise. 

I felt like a child again, grazing my knee and ripping my (new!) trousers.

  

All the way home I tried to hide it with my long scarf so people didn’t think I’d had a drunken accident…

What the doctor says…

Today I decided to take myself off for an X-Ray just to double check. I’ve damaged the ligaments in my leg and so need to go carefully. It’s good to know though that I can still move about and slowly get back to the training.

So what’s next?

I’ve signed up to the Kingston 10k on the 29 November and so I’d like to do everything in my power to be able to run it. I’m going to go for a swim and a walk this weekend and will report back afterwards.

Keeping motivated

I received a very timely call from the Anthony Nolan girls today. They check in once a month to see how you’re doing and answer your questions. A little bit of motivation came at exactly the right time 🙂

Leave a comment